Remove,install and reconfigure xorg without reinstalling ubuntu

After installing ATI graphics drivers on ubuntu 11.10 the system got an “ASUS unsupported hardware message” on login screen and the login got stuck.Rather an uninstalling ubuntu i tried to reinstall and reconfigure xorg.i got console by using Ctrl+Alt+F1 and from console i tried this…

Remove existing xorg

sudo apt-get remove --purge xserver-xorg

Install xorg

sudo apt-get install xserver-xorg

Reconfigure xorg

sudo dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xorg

This fixed the xorg problem and got my window back………

One thought on “Remove,install and reconfigure xorg without reinstalling ubuntu

  1. You save my life 😉
    I had my ubuntu desktop eventually freezing ( I do not know why) and I made the error of installing bumblebee ( DO NOT DO IT) then my resolution changed and I uninstalled bumblebee…this broke the X windows system and I could not enter the graphic desktop anymore.
    Accessing a terminal with Ctrl+Alt+F1 I remove all bumblebee stuff and followed your steps and I managed to get back the ubuntu desktop.
    Now the screen resolution is not right but I can proceed with my work. I will try to fix the resolution issue.
    Thanks a lot.
    Victor

Leave a Reply

